Safety Leader of the Year


The next COS Safety Leader of the Year could be someone you know!

All too often, safety managers and leaders are unrecognized for their work in the organization. With responsibility for an ever-growing list of occupational health concerns and government legislation related to health and safety, the work done each day by a safety professional is broad, but rarely celebrated.

That’s why Canadian Occupational Safety launched its Safety Leader of the Year award in 2006. We want to find the individual who best exemplifies leadership and vision in the world of occupational health and safety in Canada.
The COS Safety Leader of the Year award is continuing the search for exceptional leaders making a huge difference in the lives of workers by ensuring that they can safely go home to their family at the end of the day.

Co-workers, employees, bosses or anyone at all can submit a nomination for a deserving leader. The winner is chosen by a third-party panel of OHS experts from across the country. Nominations run from March to July. The winner is celebrated at the annual Canada's Safest Employers awards gala, and profiled in the December/January issue of COS.


Past Awardees:

2018: Rae Ann Aldridge, associate vice-president of risk, University of Calgary

2017: Doug Matthew, director of health, safety, wellness and environment, Alectra Utilities
2016: Adrian Khan, EHS manager, Mother Parkers Tea & Coffee
2015: Roxanne McKendry, employee health and safety manager, Carewest
2014: Dave Hagen, vice-president, EHS, Chemco Electrical Contractors
2013: David Johnston, director, environmental, health and safety, Toronto Hydro 
2012: Jim Duthie, health, safety and environment manager, Valeant Pharmaceuticals
2011: Hugh Le, health, safety and environmental coordinator, Johnsonite Canada
2010: Jeremy Shorthouse, national environmental, health and safety manager, Vincor Canada
2009: Monica Mellor, safety manager, DC Foods Inc.
2008: Peter Hollett, safety manager, Exterran Canada 
2007: Janet Sellery, safety manager, Stratford Shakespeare Festival
2006: Melony Erickson, safety manager, Alberta Oil Tool



For questions about the award, please contact COS editor

For sponsorship opportunities, please contact sales manager Paul Burton